The First Fire

First Fire

First Fire

Juicy Lucy's on the grill

Juicy Lucy’s on the grill

The first fire worked beautifully.  What did I choose to christen our beloved quincho?  Hamburgers!  Juicy Lucy’s to be exact.  A decidedly American invention of 2 thin 80% lean ground beef (chuck) patties sandwiching a piece of cheddar cheese to make a thick burger with gooey melted cheese on the inside.

Anyhow, the grill worked perfectly although the wood was slow to get started due to the fact that I think it was a bit wet.  Once it dried out in the flames, it seemed to burn better.  Prepping the fire takes quite some time, so if you’re a die hard wood burner like me, figure on about an hour of prep time.  Naturally the theatrics that go with it (never light a fire without a cold beer or drink in your hand) make up for the time it takes to get the fire ready – plus its fun to poke and watch.  We are all pyromaniacs at heart.

There will be many more documented cooks in the near future and I’ll work on posting my favorite recipes, so come back and visit often to see the latest!

About The Quincho Project

Dedicated to the pursuit of all forms of live fire cooking and the thoughtful prose it evokes. Whether prodding at a dying fire, patiently waiting on a perfect steak or simply contemplating a thin blue curl of smoke - I am truly at peace.
This entry was posted in Asado, Barbecue, Food, Grill, Quincho. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The First Fire

  1. I was just rummaging through some of the old posts here, about the construction of your Quincho. Man, I can’t tell you how much I enjoyed perusing through those old posts. Seeing the progression of your dream. The collaboration of men and sweat. I could sense your giddiness through your words and pictures. What a fun time that must have been…

    I wanted to ask, in case I missed it, but did the flaky gate guy ever come through for you? Or was the Quincho project 5 grand more costly than you planned? That would make me nervous too.

  2. Man, you are bringing back some memories! I would do it again in a heartbeat, and probably wouldn’t change a thing. Yes, the gate flake finally came through as a matter of fact, and the overall project (as undertakings of these kinds go) was around 20k over budget – but that being said, the enjoyment and quality time I’ve gotten relaxing out there (like you have so aptly put many times) is priceless. Thanks for bringing me back!

  3. Thanks for sharing those memories so I could tag along in the first place! Indeed, looks to be worth every penny. Money comes and goes. But the acquisition of memories in the Quincho are priceless indeed.

Leave a Reply

