False Spring

A week of warm weather has me looking forward to my Quincho’s very first summer.  This morning at 7am I was outside in the crisp air sweeping up and I could smell the faint smoky remnants of the last Asado in the grill.  I switched on the outdoor speakers (these I normally keep off as to not disturb the neighbors) and played some easy listening “New Agey” acoustic guitar music.  It was easy on the senses and helped me get the cobwebs out of my sleepy brain.  A symphony of finches, nuthatches, junkos, wrens, robins and the occasional upset tree squirrel is eventually joined by a chorus of leaf blowers, weed eaters and lawn mowers.  The winter seems to somehow be losing its tentative grip on the Northern California landscape.DSC_0039

DSC_0041 DSC_0042This is what is commonly known as the false spring.  I fall for it every year.  I know that soon, winter will be back with a final stab at my youthful optimism, but somehow I don’t care.  I have seen the weather reports for next week, they are predicting rain.  March has yet to come in like a lion, but it will.

Meanwhile I can appreciate the sights, sounds and smells of the early spring around the Quincho Project.

The Clematis is in

bloom and I can see the Gardenias, Azaleas and the roses all threaten to bud at any time.

The quincho is my retreat.  Its more than just a place to grill up some dinner or fire a couple pizzas.  It has an essence to it thats somehow tied to my soul.  A place to repair, relax and tinker.  To experiment.  To put the trials of the week behind me and get things in perspective.  Some men might call this a “man-cave”.  It’s a little more visceral than that to me.  This resonates with my childhood – my father and “the men” (all a bunch of food obsessed Italians mind you) cooking outdoors and arguing about sausage, sauces and the proper way to make pesto.  This happened around any grill, whether at the remote deer cabin in the summer or at the duck club cabin in the winter and it will always be a part of me. The Quincho Project is as much an homage to that as it is my Father in Law.

My mind wanders out here as a I pick up the leaves and debris around the counters.  I know winter has a few last gasps left, but right now I’m enjoying a little spring and introspection.

About The Quincho Project

Dedicated to the pursuit of all forms of live fire cooking and the thoughtful prose it evokes. Whether prodding at a dying fire, patiently waiting on a perfect steak or simply contemplating a thin blue curl of smoke - I am truly at peace.
This entry was posted in Asado, Barbecue, Food, Grill, Pizza, Quincho. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

