Life Finds a Way

This morning was one of those northern California gray mornings.  A lingering marine layer, a present sent directly from Half Moon bay about 12 miles to my West on the other side of the coastal range of large hills (or small mountains, depending on your viewpoint).  Days like this always start out overcast which burns off into bright sunshine later on in the day.  This one was no exception.

It just made it a little more difficult to start my body’s engine on a Saturday morning.  Post coffee and paper, a morning chat with my lovely wife and I’m ready to tackle the yard work I know is waiting on the other side of the door.  I  have a small lawn by California standards so at the start of this year I bought an old fashioned push mower to get some exercise and do my part off the grid. This works fine and is noble by all accounts – except when you have waited 3 spring weeks to mow it.

DSC_0086So I steeled myself and made ready for the day.  The alarm system called out “Front… Door…” as I flung it open in its mocking little mechanical voice.  And there it was.  About 5 inches of thick grass, bordered by feathery azaleas, blooming Irises, stately armeria, giant ajuga, and leafy burgenia.  All hungry and demanding food, cutting, trimming, sweeping and just plain attention.  I was ready.

As I leaned into the push mower the sun began to break through the low clouds, reenergizing me.  The resistance of the tall grass was no match for my springtime enthusiasm and in no time the lawn was trimmed and under control.

I began to wander about as I am want to do when I am gardening.  There is no priority, I work at whatever strikes my fancy.  Anyhow, at this point I happened to look down onto the pavers on the driveway and there it was.  A weed.  Growing out of the cracks.  Somehow enough soil and nutrient had DSC_0084collected there to give the little thing a foothold.  It struck me as amazing.  Life always finds a way.  In a world full of polluted oceans, carbon infused atmosphere and littered landscapes – life always finds a way.  Somehow this little weed made me feel just a little more optimistic about everything.

I grabbed the hand edger and toiled over it long enough to get nice crisp lines in the lawns border the way I like it.  I fed all the flowers their food and trimmed the bushes.  It was hard work, but honest work.  I vowed to go back in and make my wife and I an egg salad sandwich for lunch.  But not before I got the round up and sprayed all the weeds in the driveway.

Egg Salad (Makes enough for 2 sandwiches)

  • 3 chopped hard boiled eggs
  • 1/3 cup Mayo
  • 1 TBS lemon juice
  • 1 TBS Yellow Mustard
  • 1/4 cup peeled diced cucumber
  • 2 TBS minced parsley
  • About half a carrot, diced
  • Pinch Cayenne
  • Pinch Curry Powder
  • Double Pinch Dill
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

Mix everything to desired consistency (adding more seasonings to suit your taste).  When was the last time you had an egg salad sandwich?  Take those colored eggs you made for Easter and knock one out this weekend.  You’ll be surprised at how yummy they are.

I’m sure that by next weekend new weeds will find their footing in the cracks of the driveway, because Life Always Finds a Way.

About The Quincho Project

Dedicated to the pursuit of all forms of live fire cooking and the thoughtful prose it evokes. Whether prodding at a dying fire, patiently waiting on a perfect steak or simply contemplating a thin blue curl of smoke - I am truly at peace.
This entry was posted in Food, Quincho. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

