I Have Returned…

In October of 1944, a somewhat seasick Douglas MacArthur waded ashore in knee deep water at Layte, Philippines with his entourage.  Soon after, in a prepared speech to the Philippine people, he quipped (out of context, but you get the point) “…I have returned…”.   I am nowhere near as large of a personality as the general nor have I been awarded the medal of honor but – I too, have returned.  You see, I have taken somewhat of a break in regaling you with the latest in a long line of Quincho Project cooks.  I suppose I should explain myself in case you were curious as to why.

In June of 2013 (last June) I quit not only my job, but a career of 35 years in high tech.  Burned out from being overworked in an over-monetized and highly over-hyped technology space, I got my Real Estate license and quit.  My coworkers were baffled.  My boss was beside himself (incidentally, he just quit as well I hear) and my staff was practically in tears.  I pointed my bow seaward and left the safe harbor of the known to God knows where in the ocean of Commercial Real Estate.  Someone once told me that boats float safely in a harbor but they were made for the sea.  So I joined forces with Coldwell Bankers Commercial Team and begin learning the exciting business of commercial real estate at 53 years of age.  Nuts Huh?  Maybe, but every hour I work belongs to me.  I don’t have a steady salary, but I’m meeting lots of people, learning an incredible amount and making my way slowly.

I’ve also just started a new blog called RE Invest – Dedicated to Commercial Real Estate investing and some of the projects I’m involved with.  You can check it out for regular postings on listings we have (both for sale and lease) and Real Estate Analysis tools I find handy, as well as anything I find relevant on the topic.  http://reinvestblog.wordpress.com/ .  Not as exciting as 9 racks of ribs slow cooked for 6 hours and sauced to a mahogany sheen, but hey – I guys gotta make a living.

Here are a few pictures of this summers Quincho Project cooks, with more stories to come:

DSC_0130 DSC_0133 DSC_0145 DSC_0147 DSC_0148 DSC_0149 Ribs

 

About The Quincho Project

Dedicated to the pursuit of all forms of live fire cooking and the thoughtful prose it evokes. Whether prodding at a dying fire, patiently waiting on a perfect steak or simply contemplating a thin blue curl of smoke - I am truly at peace.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Have Returned…

  1. Yes!!! Hot dog!!! Welcome back old chap. Glad you’re still vertical and all that. And furthermore, have sorted out some of the stresses of life.

    The blogosphere is an interesting place. And we have discovered many a good blog there. And out of all of them, I think I have enjoyed yours the most. You we’re missed! Meat and flame, elegance and class- I do like what you’ve done with your corner of cyber space. So we are glad your back up and running again. And wait bated for what great Quincho plunders you have been hiding.

    Carry on…
    -POTP

Leave a Reply

