Falling Behind

The verdant green leaves on the Crepe Myrtles have taken on a rosy red hue.  They fall from the tree at the mere hint of a breeze, lazily fluttering down until coming to rest on the DSC_0018JPG  DSC_0020JPG DSC_0021JPG DSC_0022JPG sidewalk.  These days, there is more raking than mowing.  The stately irises have spent their bright purple and cream vestiges and the hydrangeas are all but done.  A barely noticeable change in the daylight is afoot.

Being a lover of all things outdoors, these changes inspire me.  They mesh wonderfully with my love for outdoor cooking which, is usually the outlet for this new found inspiration.   This weekend however, finds me biting off a little more than I can chew.  There’s a charity event my wife is running for the Lucille Packard Children’s Hospital at Stanford we have to attend tonight.  A hoity-toity affair no doubt, but all for a good cause.  Tomorrow we leave for Carmel to celebrate our anniversary.  It’s pretty dog friendly and we like to bring the mutt.  All this adds up to no BBQ for this weekend, but a lot to think about and reflect upon.

What a wonderful year this has been, packed with a multitude of changes for me.  I’ve switched careers (swapped a 35 plus year career in hi tech engineering for one in commercial real estate), and my wife and I adopted a Havanese puppy in August (her name is Daisy and she is adorable).  These two things alone have changed everything – I am more reflective, a lot less stressed and a lot less rich (hopefully that will change soon enough).

So as Thanksgivings approaches, I think about the things that I really can be thankful for.  My lovely wife, a tireless worker who is cheerful through the worst storm.  The great people that I met this year.  My love for entertaining friends and fabulous Asado’s I cooked.  My family, that weathers my changes with grace and support.  As I wax nostalgically, I know it’s almost time to start prepping the thanksgiving meal, one of my favorites.  I’d love to share it with you, so I’ll be sure to write up the experience.  Until then, Daisy needs to get ready for Carmel.

Daisy and the Sausage

About The Quincho Project

Dedicated to the pursuit of all forms of live fire cooking and the thoughtful prose it evokes. Whether prodding at a dying fire, patiently waiting on a perfect steak or simply contemplating a thin blue curl of smoke - I am truly at peace.
This entry was posted in Asado, Food, Grill and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

